Advice - Setting up a business

Mafrofro
Mafrofro Registered Posts: 6 New contributor 🐸
Hi all,

I'm MAAT and currently studying CIMA and would like to set up my own business but I'm a bit unsure where to start. I've read the info on AAT.org but I could do with something a bit less "get a licence, read these regulations and go for it etc" and more of a step by step.

I'm currently an assistant management accountant so my main experience is in industry than practice so im a little out of my depth.

Any information would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
Rosie

Comments

• knightyo
    knightyo Registered Posts: 27
    Hi Rosie :)

There a million people on here who are probably better qualified to answer this but I have just been through the AAT MIP application process and thought I'd share my experience with you.

First of all, I'd check with CIMA if there are any practicing restrictions with your student membership. (for example, ACCA don't let students carry out any business activities other than 'basic' bookkeeping) If they say it's OK, you're good to go.

Make sure your CPD is up-to-date and fill in your CPD record. This is also a good exercise to see where you may need refresher courses or more study.

I then sat down and wrote a business plan. It may seem a bit daunting at first but this really is important. You can access templates from the internet if you need to. It really helps you to think about what you want, how you are going to achieve it and just basically makes you think! As part of this, I researched my competition and potential client base (to the point of obsession!) and thoroughly worked out pricing (I have decided to offer a monthly service charging by direct debit but this is something you need to look into, it might not be best for you). I also worked out what I needed to earn on a daily basis so I could work out holidays, what services I wanted to offer etc.