Can I charge clients without ACCA?

I currently have a number of local businesses asking me to prepare their financial statements and submit their tax returns. Having completed AAT, would I be able to carry out this work and charge them for it?

Do I need to complete ACCA before I am legally allowed to sign accounts off?

I would very much appreciate if someone could clarify.

P.s I am currently studying ACCA…

Comments

• rwb
    rwb Registered Posts: 32 Regular contributor ⭐
    Having completed AAT you would be able to carry out the work - provided you were approved on the MiP (sorry... Licensed Accountant) scheme and had competencies in the required areas.

If you are an ACCA student though they will NOT allow you to do any work other than bookkeeping to TB without completing the qualification and getting a practicing certificate.
  • GokhanCaner
    GokhanCaner Registered Posts: 4
    rwb said:

Having completed AAT you would be able to carry out the work - provided you were approved on the MiP (sorry... Licensed Accountant) scheme and had competencies in the required areas.

If you are an ACCA student though they will NOT allow you to do any work other than bookkeeping to TB without completing the qualification and getting a practicing certificate.

Thanks for your comment Rwb,

Could I ask, if AAT allows this kind of work, do you think there is much point in completing ACCA?

My ultimate aim is to start an accountancy firm and carry out work for local businesses. Would ACCA actually add to anything to what I'm able to do with AAT?

Thanks.
  • MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368
    How far are you in your ACCA studies? It would be a shame to give it up.
  • GokhanCaner
    GokhanCaner Registered Posts: 4

How far are you in your ACCA studies? It would be a shame to give it up.

so far I've only done 1 exam.

is it worth actually having ACCA? What are the services can't offer without ACCA?
  • rwb