Career change in late 40s

whomobile
whomobile Registered Posts: 3
Hi,
I'm 46/47 and am considering a career change. Although my current situation is fairly well paid and I am quite comfortable for the moment it's a slightly physical job and a recent injury has prompted me into action.
I currently work as a service engineer in the amusement sector but within the industry have experience of lower lever management and for a time was an internal auditor (all completely unqualified, just working to the internal scheme and custom software).
Accountancy appeals to me the most but the question is have I left it too late. Personal circumstances have tended to keep me in my current job but I did complete an Open University degree five years ago so know I am intellectually adept.
I'm looking at starting a distance learning course, can anyone post any recommendations? Also, are there any members of a similar age who have retrained with success?
Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

Comments

• Neillaw
    Neillaw Registered Posts: 307 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Did you do your degree in Accountancy?

You are the same age as myself which comes into the bracket of mid life crisis!
    (AAT recently commissioned a study into this and one of the items listed in the top 30 was a career change as well as the sports car and a facebook account)

I've worked in accounts since I left college but have now started up my own practice, I appreciate that it's not a total career change but your still jumping out of your comfort zone into the unknown. I would do your homework first as to what level you would be starting at, what type of job you would want (Management accountant/treasury/cost or practice audit/tax).

I would be doing a swot analysis trying to work out your qualities which would make you a good accountant. You would need to quantify your experience.