Opening a Practice after Qualifying. Good/Bad Idea?

danjswade
danjswade Registered Posts: 12
So I'm studying lvl 4 and starting to think of what to do once I qualify (hopeful I know!). So I'm going to head on and go to either CIMA or ACCA but I'm also pondering going it alone and starting up my own firm.

I know AAT require me to be licensed etc. but I was more looking for peoples experiences, views, pitfalls and any general advise really. I'll still be working my 9-5 so won't be my main source of income, but in future........

Look forward to hearing from you and your ideas/experiences.

Comments

• Neillaw
    Neillaw Registered Posts: 307 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    You don't mention if your in practice or industry?

It's hard building a practice on-top of a 9-5 job, however your typical one man band sole traders only have available time at evenings or weekends.

I find that contract work suits me as a 3 month contract will tie me over when I'm short of work and it brings in much needed funds.

ACCA won't allow students to provide any type of invoiced work.
  • danjswade
    I'm currently working in industry (my 9-5). Yeah I can imagine dedicating enough time would be tricky, but something I hope would be beneficial and as you say, I'd be looking at the smaller clients to start with anyway so times would more likely be evening/weekend.

Really? Do they state why? That seems a bit strange.
  • TreadStone
    TreadStone Registered Posts: 280 Epic contributor 🐘
    danjswade said:

I'm also pondering going it alone and starting up my own firm.

Am I correct in assuming this is still some way off then ? And also that this new firm will be offering bookkeeping, compliance, payroll, VAT, tax advice etc ?

If so, and as you currently work in industry, I'd seriously look for a position within a practice and gain some experience there before you even consider going it alone.

Just an opinion but I'd be surprised (and a bit worried) should anyone advise otherwise.