Self teaching yourself, is it possible? Advice needed for beginner looking to get AAT qualified.

Options
UKBrad
UKBrad Registered Posts: 4
Hi,

I am currently self employed and have been for the past 4 years but am now looking for a change. I really want to get into an accountancy trainee program and have been trying to however most of them prefer to have someone with an AAT qualification or at least be working towards it.

I have been looking into it but there seems to be so much information to get through.

I understand I have to register with AAT which costs around £120, each exam costs £75 so wondered whether it was possible to teach yourself from books, if so could you recommend which book to train from.

I assume I need to go for the AQ2016 syllabus and am I right in thinking there are 5 exams?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Bertie
    Bertie Registered Posts: 376
    Options
    AQ2016 I have no experience of.

Can you self study through AAT?

Depends...

Answer this question:

How much do you want it?

I self studied AAT, ATT, and CIMA.

Qualified in all the above, MIP CIMA too.

Would I class myself as a genius? No

The only difference between me and someone who works in a factory is I know what I want.

If you want it, you'll get it.
  • Jdan95
    Jdan95 Registered Posts: 21
    edited February 2017
    Options
    Hey,

I'm currently doing the AQ2016 self studying. I bought the books through the Kaplan Publishing website, got a notepad and pen and started making notes. When i'd completed the book I would use the resources available on MyAAT (mock exams, real life situations, green light tests etc). Anything I didn't understand I would ask on here - people are so helpful.

When I was confident I could pass the exam I checked Kaplan's website (they dont have much availability at short notice) or ring BPP and book an exam through them. You're correct about the exam fees and AAT membership fees. It's quite easy.