Level 4 self study

Hi all, I am sure this question has been asked before but I'd like to know how people studying Level 4 by themselves have found it? I'm currently studying level 3 distance learning and approaching the end, I haven't really used the tutor support (other than for PETH!) so I am considering self study as it is a far cheaper option. I am under no illusions though that level 4 is going to be much harder so I'd appreciate people's feedback before I take the plunge! Thank you

Comments

• douglasstroud
    douglasstroud Registered Posts: 295 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I self studied levels 3&4 and found it fine
    I used Osborne study manuals and just booked the exams when I felt ready, I did find it quite a big step up to level 4 as there is a lot more written answers in the exams.
    The only module you will need a training provider for is the ICAS report unless this has changed over the last few years.

HTH
    Doug
  • HelloKirsty
    HelloKirsty Registered Posts: 3
    Hey!
    Agreed with Douglas. I have self-studied from Level 2 and have just two units left on Level 4 (PTAX and ISYS). The units have been slightly meatier, but I have found them manageable.
    Hope that helps with your decision. :-)
    Kirsty
  • Bertie
    Bertie Registered Posts: 376
    Paying for study support at this stage is not necessary.

Any questions you have you can, as a student of the AAT, post within the forum. You can actually post if you're not a student - yet I digress...

I'm not sure now, but within the old syllabus you needed the project marked by a provider - I'm sure that has probably changed now with the new syllabus in motion.

There isn't much value in paying huge fees for a full distance learning package, just buy the books and you'll see that with time dedicated you can solve any issues yourself, it will also force you to search other areas for answers as you will in real life situations, such like trawling through various tax acts.