I need a very professional/experienced answer.. "If you was me"

Options
Hi,

I have a serious question which will result in my decision to continue AAT or not.

I graduated in 2011 with a B.Sc. degree in Information Technology and i am currently studying AAT Level 2. I do not have any accounting/finance experience.

I started AAT level 2 in Feb 2017 and as of today i have completed both Bookkeeping Transactions and Controls with 95 and 96 percent pass rate.

Whilst applying for job roles i am met with the most common flaw put in place by agencies which is "2 years experience required" for entry level accounting roles.

Whilst applying for training/apprenticeship roles, i have been hit with "you are over qualified". I also had a Kaplan finance member confirm that because of my university degree, I am considered level 4 qualified meaning i cannot apply for apprenticeships, which is not stated on the Gov.co.uk website.

Now the only interviews i have had is with "top dog" companies (FTSE 100). Both PriceWaterhouseCooper and Compass group quickly offered me interviews for graduate roles and both companies acknowledged i have achieved a IT degree which they stated is very beneficial in today's economy. However i was kindly rejected as they had more suitable candidates who (which i discover by networking with a few during the interview day) were part qualified ACCA students.

Now if you was me

Would you continue to finish Level 2 and completely skip Level 3 & 4 and go straight into ACCA?

OR

Would you continue to complete Level 2, 3 and 4 whist continuing to find a related job role then eventually moving towards ACCA in the future.

Bare in mind i study via kaplan's long distance course (basically at home) and that i left my previous job so i could pursue my career goals.

Thanks for reading.

Comments

• Zoynal98
    Zoynal98 Registered Posts: 65
    edited April 2017
    Options
    Hi Ricky,