The layout of the Financial Statements

Uncleboobot
Uncleboobot Registered Posts: 44 Regular contributor ⭐
Hello everyone,

Is there any rhyme reason for the lay out of the Statement of profit or Loss and the Statement of Financial Position? If so, can anybody offer a reason for it's 3 column layout?

There doesn't appear (to me) to be any logical reasoning for it's layout. I have looked back through my course books but I don't seem to find anything specifically about the layout.

The layout on the SFP seems more logical but if I were to have to learn how to layout a SPL, I would struggle to understand why it's laid out in the way it is.

Thanks,

Stuart

Comments

• Uncleboobot
    So, here is an example. I am currently studying Level 3 Accounting and the image below is an extract from my text book. The question then, is how do I learn which figures are placed in which column and/or which calculations are made in which column? Hope this makes sense.

\
  • Zoynal98
    Zoynal98 Registered Posts: 65
    edited April 2017
    Doubt this is going to help much...

The proforma you are showing is very detailed, I tend to remember the main parts (see below):

Sales (Net sales) Remember to remove sales returns
    Less: Cost of Sales ((Opening Inventory + Net purchases) - Closing Inventory)
    = Gross Profit (Net Sales - Cost of Sales)
    Add: Other Income
    = Gross Profit + Other Income
    Less: Expenses
    = Net Profit ((Gross Profit + Other Income) - Expenses)

Then you can use logic to allocate each line item underneath the bold headings (shown above).

Let me know if anything is unclear.
  • Bertie
    Bertie Registered Posts: 376
    There isn't.

You will learn what goes where through practice.

You'll need to know what interacts with what.

Ultimately the extra column is there to calculate sub-totals of varying sections, after which you have you're ultimate totals.

To be honest I've never really thought of the question before.
  • Uncleboobot