Advice about ACCA

ScottB
ScottB Registered Posts: 21
edited November 2017 in General discussion
Hello, Just turned 21 and I achieved a distinction grade in AAT Level 4 in August and have the MAAT status, after looking for a new role to use my AAT qualification I am indeed struggling to find something that will make use of my AAT qualifications and something that pays well enough for my efforts so far (having way for growth of course) I personally can't believe what little opportunitied there are if you just have AAT from what I have seen (Norwich based) I have 2 years experience in purchase ledger and somehow after my dedication that seems to be one of the only things I'm apparently qualified for which I'm a bit upset about, seems as though if I would have left school and didn't go into further education I would be on the same money? Anyway can anyone please advise on going forward to going into practice and doing ACCA at the same time. I have basically left school and done exams and revised (heavily for level 3 and 4 AAT) and was initially put off doing another 3 years of study, but if I want to use my qualifications I may have no choice. Not sure when you are supposed to live your life in all this, as I certainly didn't have one in Level 4 especially.
With ACCA can you purely learn from a book or will you seriously need to start using Excel and Sage etc. People keep saying how difficult ACCA is, but are never specific of why it is harder, audit sounds a pretty boring and hard unit and takes me back to the synoptic assessment for level 4 which was very hard and frustrating given the circumstances. But any advice would be amazing. Thanks in advance and sorry if this sounds as if I'm being a bit on edge!

Comments

• mergen
    mergen Registered Posts: 112 New contributor 🐸
    There are so many variables/factors, but I have never heard anyone say that AAT helped them find a job. Experience, experience and experience again with AAT on the side is a bonus!