Careers with Level 2 Bookkeeping

kontisto
kontisto Registered Posts: 15
I'm currently studying Level 2 Foundation Certificate in Bookkeeping and was wondering when I finish, how easy will it for me to get a job? What sort of jobs can I apply for and what kind of pay am I to expect?

I can't afford level 3 so I'm going to try and self study and save so I can enrol in September. I'm also sick of working in retail and would like a change, even if the pay is terrible.

I'm in my early 20's and highly computer literate (I've built them and am a hobbyist programmer, not relevant but just saying) and willing to put in extra hours. Never worked in an allied field but Maths is my best GCSE subject.

Thanks.

Comments

• KoopaCooper
    KoopaCooper Registered Posts: 224
    @Kontisto - speaking with experience here.

Like you, Maths was my best subject too (I got my degree in it from King's in 2003), but then ended up working in dead-end high street retail (kinda...I worked for William Hill for 3 years). The pay was bad, the hours were worse, and the aggressive punters were terrible. Eventually I got sick of it (literally, my GP signed me off with depression) and quit.

Worst move I ever made. Seriously.

I didn't have a plan, and worse, I didn't have another job lined up. I spent 8 years unemployed.

I cannot stress enough - IF YOU DON'T HAVE ANOTHER JOB LINED UP, DO NOT QUIT. It will almost certainly come back to bite you if you do.

If you can't afford to pay for level 3, you may be able to get support from the DWP (may...but don't bank on it), or you could take out a student loan (I would honestly advise this method), which needn't be paid back until you are earning more than the threshold (currently £21,000).