Difference between money laundering and Tax avoidance?

Options
kimberleybevan
kimberleybevan Registered Posts: 2
Hi Just wondering what aat definition of Tax avoidance and money laundering? As I have been a little confused over some synoptic test questions which makes this area appear very grey therefore I would appreciate a clear definition. Some financial websites seem to say current thinking links the two terms. Any help would be great.
I can also see that aat did a webinar 2010 on money laundering do you have a link to where it is on the website as I can't seem to find it?

Comments

• payrollpro
    payrollpro Registered Posts: 427 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    I'm not surprised your confused, the rest of us have the same problem and I am a statutory reporting officer for a practice!

There is actually a third term, tax evasion to understand as well and the three are completely different.

Tax evasion is where someone deliberately understates their income, or overstates allowable costs in order to artificially depress the tax liability. They usually do it with the express intention of escaping the tax they are rightfully liable to pay and that is why it is a criminal offence.

Tax avoidance is where a taxpayer uses theirs, or someone else's knowledge of the law to alter their behaviour in such a way as to reduce the tax they might normally be axpected to pay. As long as this uses lawful means it is perfectly legal to do it. Salary sacrifice, for example, where you reduce your salary and your employer replaces it with, say additional pension contributions is, technically, tax avoidance. You alter your behaviour, i.e. reduce your pay and hence the tax and NIC lawfully due, and instead get extra tax free benefits, such as pension contributions and so you avoid those normal tax liabilities.