Could I go out as an MIP?

For a while I’ve considered going self-employed on the side of my full time job (management accountant) but I can’t quite pluck up the courage to do so!

I have been accepted as MIP and I am currently studying ATT (having also completed both BTAX and PTAX in AAT) but not having the experience in a practice world scares me slightly... I don’t even know where to begin to get any clients!

My dad has a Ltd company and I have always practiced his tax returns, year end filing etc but have never actually had to submit any of it myself as he has a chartered accountant who’s always done that, so it’s a bit daunting.

I’d really love to have a chat with anyone who is in a similar position to me or who wouldn’t mind giving me a pep talk! :)

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    I've not done similar to you at all as I worked in practice first. From my experience of taking on staff from industry the difficult bit is knowing about all the admin type work going on that happens in order to make a practice run smoothly and also being able to quickly chop and change between clients.

That doesn't mean those who have worked in industry cannot run a practice but it may be more difficult. You are doing the right thing by being cautious. Is there any way you can take a job in practice to gain some experience first?
    Regards,

Burg
  • Neillaw
    Neillaw Registered Posts: 307 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I've actually been in the same position of coming from industry into practice (it's tough!), the advantage with me was that I did a couple of practice jobs before moving back into industry which gave me a refresher course in how practice works.
    I understand why Burg likes to take on practice staff as your multi tasking with clients, waiting for clients to provide you with information etc.
    In Industry you just go and beat someone's door down for the information but that isn't client friendly.