Thinking of doing Bookkeeping as a side job

louisajones1
louisajones1 Registered Posts: 2
Last year I became AAT Qualified and I have over 15 years experience working in accounts, covering all aspects of Sales Ledger, Purchase Ledger, Bank Reconciliations, Cashflow forecasting & payroll upto 120 p/month.

Currently I work full time as a Nominal Ledger controller, but would like to start doing bookkeeping as a side line initially evenings/weekends and in time reduce my hours as my full time job - if all goes well even - well lets see

But - WHERE DO I START???

A local restaurant advertised on Indeed for a bookkeeper for 15 hrs p/month flexible.
I sent my CV & they called me, but didn't hear no more.
I'm not surprised I didn't really know what to say or what to ask

I don't know if I'm overthinking it, but want to come across as professional, so hear are my concerns:

Do I provide the software? If so what?
I've looked at Xero & QuickBooks for Bookkeepers, where you can have multiple entities on one software but couldn't see much information or pricing.

-Should I get letters after my name? Currently AAT Affiliate member is it worth paying extra for AATQB? or apply to be a AAT Licenced bookkeeper?

-What normally happens? Do you meet client every so often for them to give me all their Invoices/Bank Statements/receipts etc?
-Do I need to register with ICO?
-Would I need Professional Indemnity Insurance? Which Is the best?

I also haven't had much practical experience of VAT returns & Self assessments, other than that studied.

I have also posted this in a Bookkeeper forum, but not sure if I'm more confused & unsure than I was before.

I've also thought about just advertising as some sort of Accounts helper where people could contact me for help with Purchase Ledger Recs/Bank Rec's -I can't believe the mess some people them into and I really enjoy that side of accounts.