Changing vehicles and how to claim motor expenses

Rizwan
Rizwan Registered Posts: 10 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi all,

Being a driving instructor myself and submit my own Accounts to HMRC.
I have been using cash basis accounting previously and now want to change to mileage.

I have an automatic and a manual car. Always buy vehicles secondhand and use until it starts to require more frequent maintenance. The automatic is only used for business and is the main source of income, the manual is now probably only used for around 10% of the time for business.

I have purchased a newer automatic car in January 2018 and having looked at the expenses it appears I would be better off claiming mileage only (45p/25p for mileage) I'm also aware that you can only claim via a new method when vehicles have been changed. (I have kept mileage records)

My Accounting period is from 1st April to 31st March.

My question is, Can I change how I claim during this period or do I have have to wait for the next Accounting year (i.e. for period ending 31st March 2019) to change methods. If so, how do I change the records? I understand that when entering the figures on the online tax return I have to select the method I'm using and continue with that.

I have apportioned the depreciation costs and can easily change the remainder of 3 months
Any help would be appreciated.

Kind regards
Rizwan

Comments

• Rizwan
    edited January 2019

Hi
    Where you say you are using the cash basis do you mean that you have been using the actual expenses for your old car and now you have changed cars you wish to use the flat rate for mileage if this is correct then you can claim this from the time the car comes into use (Jan 18) you do not have to wait until the start of a new tax year but once it has been claimed you must stick to it.

Not sure I understand what you mean about the depreciation perhaps you might elaborate some more with a bit more information.