DEAD CLIC Explanation needed

Options
I'm currently studying Lvl 2 and i'm currently on the double entry bookkeeping section of the transactions unit.

For DEAD CLIC, I totally understand the whole Debits and credits and if something classes as increasing an asset then it's a debit, if it decreases an asset then credit etc. I totally get that and ace that bit (I think haha..)

My issue is with what actually classifies as Assets and Income sometimes.

Like when you send out an invoice i get that the debit is an asset increasing and the credit is the income increasing. But see when a client pays that invoice how would that be recorded? I've read somewhere that it decreases an asset or something?

I might be totally wrong but i'm just pretty confused on it. I would really appreciate someone explaining this to me.

Thanks,

Comments

• crispy
    crispy Registered Posts: 466 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    Hello,

When issuing the Invoice for a credit sale you are correct an asset and income are increasing, the journal would be:

Dr Debtors Control (increasing asset)
    Cr Sales (increasing income)

When the customer pays you are both increasing one asset and decreasing another, journal is:

Dr Bank (increasing asset)
    Cr Debtors (decreasing asset)

Hope this helps :)

• StudentLvl2
    StudentLvl2 Registered Posts: 14
    Options
    crispy said:

Hello,

When issuing the Invoice for a credit sale you are correct an asset and income are increasing, the journal would be:

Dr Debtors Control (increasing asset)
    Cr Sales (increasing income)

When the customer pays you are both increasing one asset and decreasing another, journal is:

Dr Bank (increasing asset)
    Cr Debtors (decreasing asset)

Hope this helps :)

Yes that's perfect thank you! I knew it had something to do with a decreasing asset!

if you don't mind me asking - why does the asset decrease? Just confused on how it all works!
  • Ellis
    Ellis Registered Posts: 11
    Options
    Hello!