Error on previous company accounts - Director Loan account in credit but should not be?

Options
Hi,

I am in the process of putting some accounts together for a friend who is ill and it is not my usual field - I am a management accountant - I am doing a year end and filing but I have been informed by the client that the Directors loan account which is stating money owed to the director, is incorrect and should,be less or nothing at all?

How would I deal with this in the accounts?

Please let me know if you need any information and thanks for any help

Kind Regards

David

Comments

• MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368
    Options
    Hi David
    Were the accounts filed by your friend or did he use another accountant to file the accounts?
  • DavidC
    DavidC Registered Posts: 2
    Options
    Hi

Another Accountant

Thanks
  • mskaat
    mskaat Registered Posts: 53
    Options
    DavidC said:

Hi,

I am in the process of putting some accounts together for a friend who is ill and it is not my usual field - I am a management accountant - I am doing a year end and filing but I have been informed by the client that the Directors loan account which is stating money owed to the director, is incorrect and should,be less or nothing at all?

How would I deal with this in the accounts?

Please let me know if you need any information and thanks for any help

Kind Regards

David

David, There are work ethics to be followed here.

1. There is a disagreement between the other accountant and the client on the treatment and disclosure of an accounting transaction/(s) - You might be able to find out why this is so despite the client being your friend - the procedures are there. Also use professional scepticism in your decision - an area currently being discussed by the international ethics board.