Technical Accounting guidence

Hi everyone

Do any of you have a resource for technical accounting guidance that you use? Whether that be advice for accounting for lease incentives, disclosures, anything technical. AAT used to offer a helpline with ICAEW but that ended a year or two back, and I havent found anything that can assist. Any thoughts or advice most welcome!

Comments

• MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368
    Good question!
    @AAT_Team what is the AAT's view on this?

@Marcus29 I have attended conferences organised by the Mercia Group. I can see on their website that they also offer a technical helpline, although I have no experience of this and it looks quite expensive...
  • Marcus29
    Marcus29 Registered Posts: 3
    @MarieNoelle - thanks for the post! I've just had look at their website and they could be a good resource to help out in such situations, thank you. It would be good to hear the AAT's view - we have a lot of good material and resource with the AAT, but it doesn't always cover some more of the complex technical elements. I sometimes feel a little lost on where to turn to for assistance on these matters. Certainly the Mercia resource could be a good one, although I agree, the cost looks a little high. I used the ICAEW helpline a couple of times and they were very helpful - the AAT had their reasons to not offer it anymore, I'm sure, but there doesn't look to be any steer on alternatives for more complex issues.
  • reader
    reader Registered Posts: 1,037 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I think they got rid of ICAEW helpline around 2 years ago to offer Croner tax products. However I believe AAT are withdrawing most of the Croner products offered from 1 July 2019. Therefore we are left with very little with regards to financial reporting and VAT with the AAT membership.
  • MarieNoelle
    reader said: