Having an AAT qualification

geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
Hi Folks

I have over 10 years' experience of credit control, and while working, I managed to complete my AAT qualification.

I would now like to come away from credit control and go into other job roles such as accounts assistant or assistant accountant. However, I do not have the relevant work experience.

Could someone kindly let me know the best way to develop my career?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Comments

• David Ballantyne
    David Ballantyne Registered Posts: 105 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
    Don't think about the experience that you don't have, focus on the experience that you do have and start applying for jobs.

I think the most likely option is to apply for jobs with smaller employers who are looking for someone to do all their financial administration. I'm thinking of a situation in which you are the only finance person in the business, i.e. you are the finance department.

The fact that you are an MAAT is a major plus. I assume that you must be capable of general bookkeeping.

The kind of job description you should probably look for would be:

Job title: Bookkeeper/Accounts Assistant/Finance Officer.
    Duties: Bookkeeping, credit control, payroll. This may also include budgeting, forecasting/cash flow planning, management accounts.
    David Ballantyne
    Connect with me on LinkedIn!
    Ballantyne Accountants
  • geek84
    Thanks David
  • Lindi
    Lindi Registered Posts: 166
    @geek84 I know exactly what you mean. I gained my MAAT in January 2018 and although I have a varied role, I am still the main point of contact for accounts at my workplace.

I can honestly agree with David, small businesses are ideal as you will likely run sales and purchase ledgers. I do all the bookkeeping across both ledgers, and it has made me more confident.