Should I continue?

I’m 40 and just started the AAT foundation distance learning before the lockdown. My college supplier has discontinued so I am now starting all over again.
I’m wondering whether this is all worth it? Should I bother carrying on?

I am mum to two kids and will be looking for a part time term time job (one child is disabled)

Am I likely to actually be able to find a job after making the effort to study?
I am worried that although I have over 20 years of admin experience (covering some aspects of finance) I haven’t worked in a finance department, so I can’t start up on my own.

Just wondering if anyone else has any experience of winning despite a tough start? I don’t really want to set myself up for a fall

Comments

• hal978
    hal978 Registered Posts: 197 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I started as an accounts assistant at the age of 37, became an affiliate (passed all my exams) at the age of 39, became a full member (MAAT) and licensed accountant at the age of 40. So age is no barrier.
  • thelowendtheory18
    thelowendtheory18 Registered Posts: 298 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    go for it!!!!!!

it's never too late....just think of the proverb "it's better late than never"
    AAT

Level 2 Foundation Certificate in Accounting - 30 Nov 18
    Level 3 Advanced Diploma in Accounting - 16 Oct 19
    Level 4 Professional Diploma in Accounting - 22 Jul 21
  • fedemenni
    fedemenni Registered Posts: 93

I’m 40 and just started the AAT foundation distance learning before the lockdown. My college supplier has discontinued so I am now starting all over again.

I’m wondering whether this is all worth it? Should I bother carrying on?

I am mum to two kids and will be looking for a part time term time job (one child is disabled)

Am I likely to actually be able to find a job after making the effort to study?