Need advice on changing my career - salary level

ncacat
ncacat Registered Posts: 44
edited July 2019 in General discussion
I don’t have paid industry or accountancy firm experience but have been volunteering with a firm for a long time during the weekends. They have been very helpful in letting me play around stuff such as book keeping for limited companies, running RTI submissions, assisting with pension auto enrolment, assisting with and registering self assessment clients and preparing profit and loss accounts for some traders and rental property clients, accounts production from trial balances and managing control accounts before a senior colleague finalises them.

Sorry about the wall of text. I had to give you a background of where I am coming from.

I have enough confidence now to enter a paid role and switch over my career from what I have been doing for so many years. (which I never liked, a people oriented sales and marketing role)

I have an opportunity (Accounts Assistant) willing to offer £21000 which is just barely over minimum wages and I have loads of monthly outlay. :anguished: This is to be expected especially when switching careers.

Anyways, is this level normal in the market? Is this something people would expect me to take on and work from?
I guess, what I am trying to ask is, should I take this opportunity and work on it or wait for a better role?

Would the salary level increase, say in a years time with experience? (Working hard on account production, of course)

Please say yes :astonished:<3

Comments

• dumutroba
    dumutroba Registered Posts: 262
    This is exactly my experience and even worse because I don't have any experience, but I see little point after spending all that money and time and then go on and take the financial hit, more so considering this is a highly professional job, so I don't see way one should devalue themselves.