Clients' Tax Returns

joannamcintyre
joannamcintyre Registered Posts: 7 New contributor 🐸
I spent 11 years working for a Tax Consultant during which time he taught me how to do his clients' accounts and tax returns all of which were simple as they were all sole traders like gardeners, builders and hairdressers and their tax returns were no more complicated than my own. Unfortunately, he died last year and several of his clients asked me if I could do their accounts and tax returns instead. I have done their accounts but HMRC will not authorise me to do their tax returns unless I am a member of a professional body. So I have started my AAT level 2. Is it true that I have to do level 3 and 4 in order to be authorised? I am 60 now and by the time I studied all those exams it will be almost time for me to retire! Is there a short course I can do regarding just self-employed taxes instead?

Comments

• douglasstroud
    douglasstroud Registered Posts: 295 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Where does HMRC say you need to be part of professional body?
    I have just been on the website and looked at what you need to apply to be an agent for SA and it says nothing about that, all you need is MLR supervision.
  • joannamcintyre
    joannamcintyre Registered Posts: 7 New contributor 🐸