Changing My Career To Accounting/Book-Keeping In My Late 40s...

sjtoomer
sjtoomer Registered Posts: 63 Regular contributor ⭐
I am 47, I currently work in a Local Government administrative job which is low-paid and going nowhere, and I want to change in to some form of Accounting job. I obviously realise that I will need to start at the bottom of the ladder. I have completed the AAT L2 Bookkeeping course and I am currently studying the AAT L3 Bookkeeping course (I have just passed Advanced Booking and I am now learning Final Accounts Preparation). I have been applying for Purchase Ledger Clerk/Sales Ledger Clerk/Finance Assistant type jobs, which I assume is the correct level, for some months now, but I keep getting no reply. This is quite dis-heartening, as I was hoping to change careers in to an Accounting/Bookkeeping type job with the AAT Qualifications, because that it was they are meant to qualify you in. I do not know whether it is a case that employers are not valuing the AAT Qualifications or whether there is a glut of people out there who are more experienced/qualified than myself that employers are taking on instead; but it appears to be the same old chicken-and-egg problem regarding experience and jobs. I surely cannot be the only person experiencing this and it seems that the AAT Forums have plenty of similar postings to this. Any advice is appreciated, as I want to change my career before it is too late for me (which I hope it is not, since people are now having to work until longer than before). I realise that I will have to just keep on applying for junior Accounting-type positions with companies.

Comments

• Dervish_Life
    Dervish_Life Registered Posts: 10 New contributor 🐸
    I read this somewhere and found it interesting so sharing it with you here with some edits made.

All companies have their own special 'recipe' for finding the perfect candidate.