guidance needed!

Options
koolboi2007
koolboi2007 Registered Posts: 32 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi

Im in my final year of AAT at technician level and I have a place at university for accountancy and finance this september 2008.

Im really lost because i heard from some people that the degree is a waste of time and other people say that with a degree you can get a place in an accounting firm to train to become a chartered accountant.

I want to reach ACCA of course and i know i can get into it after AAT technician. I need to know whether to do the degree or go onto ACCA. I desperately need to know if doing the degree is a good career route because even after you do the ACCA you need experience to step into accountancy jobs.

All help is appreciated!

Comments

• mowzer
    mowzer Registered Posts: 67 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Have you heard about the Oxford Brookes degree you can do in conjunction with ACCA?

This could be the best of both worlds
  • koolboi2007
    Options
    Yes

Yes i heard about the degree that Oxford brookes uni offer to ACCA students but is that degree same as the acountancy and finance degree?
  • welshwizard
    welshwizard Registered Posts: 465 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    IMHO you should go straight to ACCA - you get exemptions from some papers and could (in theory be Chartered status within 2 -3 years. Do an accountancy degree and you could still find you have to complete some - if not lots of papers from ACCA. Also, bear in mind all the debt you build up doing undergraduate courses - you may as well use your NVQ 4 and build up any debt (unless you can get a job with training) whilst doing the ACCA. I would check with www.ACCAglobal.com to see what exemptions the degree gives you in conjunction with your AAT qulaifications. You may find that spending 3 years at Uni would only give you exemption from 5 extra papers.