After AAT

Options
andrewtdk
andrewtdk Registered Posts: 150 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Although i am only studying Intermediate i am looking into what to do after AAT.

I want to further develop my knowledge after AAT but the company i currently work for is not chartered or certified and i wondered if its ever possible to still study ACCA?

I know this is not an ACCA forum but im a member here and i thought it would be would be worth a post incase anyone here is also looking into this.

Also has anyone here studied ATT and if so is it worth studying as im also considering this.

I would be grateful if anyone has answers to my questions.

Thanks,

Andrew

Comments

• jorja1986
    jorja1986 Registered Posts: 210 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    I have never studied ATT but I know several people in practice who have and they said that it is a valuable course to go on.

You can still study for an accountant qualification even if your employer isnt certified or chartered. It is a personal qualification that will open up many doors. Just like a GCSE you dont have to be French to do the French GCSE. (over simplified analagy I appreciate).

There are lots of accounting qualifications that you can look into. Just read the AAT magazine :)
  • laurenw
    laurenw Registered Posts: 42 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Hi Andrew,

I currently work as an accounts assistant, i am also going to progress onto ACCA once i am qualified (hopefuly in Sept 08).

As far as i am aware anyone can study ACCA, you dont have to work in a chartered/certified role. You are exempt from papers F1,F2 & F3 with Technician level.
    Im sure you only need to register with ACCA & have done 3 years accounting experience to qualify.

One thing i would say is, have you thought about what options you want to take next year? I am doing Business Tax & have been told this is a valued part of ACCA.

I have never heard of ATT but maybe this is because i dont work in practice.