Reading Time

mazzy
mazzy Registered Posts: 13 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Hi

I'm new to AAT and about to sit ECR & FRA in december - having not done an exam for years - are you allowed to write anything on the question paper during reading time? and you allowed to start answering before the reading time is up?
Thank you!

Comments

• A-Vic
    A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Welcome and yes you have 15 mins reading time included :thumbup1:
  • mazzy
    Thanks but can i write during this time?:001_smile:
  • blobbyh
    blobbyh Registered Posts: 2,415 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Yes, you can start writing as soon as you're allowed to open the paper but reading time is always recommended for you to flick through the entire paper and briefly scan each question. Doing so will allow you to see which questions you might find tougher than others and mentally apportion extra time to those than on others you'll feel more confident on. Having said that, one of the first things I did when I sat ECR was to write down my formulae before I forgot them!

Not flicking through the paper first can also lead to dangerous surprises. I think it was the FRA paper of June 2006 where a blank page (or maybe two) was inserted before the final questions. Many missed this out and didn't go on to answer the last partnership account questions assuming they'd finished early and 'got off light'. While there was a great deal of fuss at the time (and I believe it was mentioned in the Chief Assessor's Report), the people who did this only had themselves to blame and allowing concessions for them would have unfairly penalised those that did answer them.

So yes you can write before the fifteen minutes is up but I'd suggest only after you've briefly scanned the whole paper front to back.

Good luck for your exams!
  • mazzy