Step Change? Foundation to Intermediate

Options
alanm
alanm Registered Posts: 5 New contributor 🐸
Hi all,

I'm currently studying Foundation at evening class - that's three hours a week studying the same course that part timers are covering in six hours a week.

Despite the necessity of covering the requirements at double speed, I am finding the pace of the course very slow. However, I believe that that will not be the case with Intermediate as an evening class.

I've a firm offer for next year at the college to do Intermediate, but have chosen to do part time instead of evening class because I am concerned that the Intermediate is much harder than Foundation and I will find myself being swamped!

Note I am NOT working in the industry - presently a copier jockey!

I also have a nagging concern about the cost of the course, I could save hundreds of pounds with a correspondence course. Is that sensible for someone with no experience in the industry? I'd have to be smart with my time - I share childcare with my wife.

So can anyone share there experiences re how they chose to study Intermediate? By the by, I am degree educated so studying hard is something I know about and learning new skills is something I enjoy - just need the time to put the hours in.

Thanks in advance,

Alan..

Comments

• sarahwilson
    sarahwilson Registered Posts: 567 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    I found Intermediate a big gear change from Foundation so I think you're being sensible opting for part time. Is it possible for you to alter back to 3 hours a week if you find it reasonably straightforward?
  • alanm
    alanm Registered Posts: 5 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Sarah,

Thanks for the reply - I'm sure I could swap. CDo you reckon going down the correspondence course route is viable? Given I actually work at the college that is providing the AAT courses, I could always bend the tutors ears if I do have trouble doing the course by post - but they may not be too happy!

Alan..