MAC Unit 33 - Confused

Tube
Tube Registered Posts: 27 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi there,

I am studying with BPP and am confused about the way the different budgets are worked out.

For example, in the course materials the production budget is worked out using the following method:

Sales qty
+ Closing stock
- Opening stock
= Total production budget

However in the BPP Course Companion it shows:

Sales qty
- Opening stock
+ Closing Stock
= Total production budget.

Would someone be able to tell me the correct method to use?

Thanks

Comments

• Tube
    MAC Unit 33 - June 08

Hi,

Just worked out my own query above. Both methods work out to the same number of total production.

I've just had a look at the June 08 paper task 1.1 (a). How come the monthly enquiries are 207000 for June? I work it out to be 213000.
    Enquiries 210000
    - Opening enquiries 27000
    + Closing enquiries 30000
    Monthly enquiries 213000

I think its worked out as, but why?:

Enquiries 210000
    + Opening enquiries 27000
    - Closing enquiries 30000
    Monthly enquiries 207000

Can someone help me? :confused1:

Thanks
  • Londina
    Londina Registered Posts: 814 Epic contributor 🐘
    Tube wrote: »

Sales qty
    + Closing stock
    - Opening stock
    = Total production budget

my book too shows this way!
  • wolfe
    wolfe Registered Posts: 121 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    tube

usually when we make production budgets its for a manufacturing organisation. and we minus the opening stock from the sales quantity because we already have it we dont have to produce it while the closing stock is added to the sales quantity as it needs to be produced.

in this case there isnt any physical output. what we have here is no. of enquiries.

so in a particular month we will have opening enquiries which have to be carried out in that month because thy havent been carried out the previous month . also there will be clsoing enquiries which need to be carried out NEXT month.