Training/induction new staff...a thing of the past?

Londina
Londina Registered Posts: 814 Epic contributor 🐘
It's my impression or companies nowdays don't have the time to give new staff training or inductions to their way of doing and expect a person to know everything straight away? I mean, they are so impatient....I remember when I started my jobs there was always someone who gave me the handover of his/her work, now you start somewhere and the previous person is already gone!

Comments

• Paul C
    Paul C Registered Posts: 193 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I often wonder whether it’s a little trick to see how much extra you will do above what the last person did.....not telling you what's needed / was done before puts the pressure on the new person.

I agree that people should have a decent handover & induction though. As a line manager I want people to be up to speed quickly so that I can get the best out of them & also keep them as happy and stress free as possible.
  • A-Vic
    A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    lol my induction was a pile of 500 files 6 filing cabnets no phone computer or idea, six years on still feels the same :lol: but hey at least i did get them files in order
  • Londina
    Paul C wrote: »
    I agree that people should have a decent handover & induction though

Exactly, I think it's essential to give time to new staff to "settle down" and let them gain good understand of the business first. Motivation is what makes people want to do well for themselves, the team and the company and managers should have the responsibility to provide a work environment that motivates. I learnt this in a management skills course when I was in a supervisor position and I noticed everyone actually worked better.

Companies that don't provide training and rush people to do a job that it's not yet familiar to them will definately lose out.
  • blobbyh
    blobbyh Registered Posts: 2,415 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️