Caluclating interest on a loan - help (can/will pay)!!

Monsoon
Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
Hi,

I have a client who has a business loan from a private individual, who has agreed an interest rate of, say 4% over base. They have told my client to calculate the interest themselves.

I know the formula is hideously complex and I have no practical knowledge of it. I am not confident in being able to explain how do do it or indeed of getting it right!

Also, surely my client could choose to pay based on either a daily rate, or balance outstanding at the end of every month/quarter/year? The loaner has said it's up to her to caluclate it. Loan is repayable quarterly.

Is it simply a case of, say:

Loan taken out January
2nd payment in March, balance outstanding £19000
Interest = 19000 * (4.5% x 1/4)
Plus the capital repayment of, say, £500
i.e. charging a quarter of a year's interest on that quarter's payment

Payment in June
Bal outstanding (19000-500)
Interest = 18500 * (4.5% x 1/4)
Plus capital repayment of 500

etc

??

Client happy to pay someone to work it out and provde a spreadsheet to work it out going forwards, including the possibility of changing interest rates etc.....

Thank you!

Comments

• Monsoon
    Ok, so having read this thread, I didn't get it right. I hope someone can help! My tiny brain can't cope! :lol:
  • PGM
    PGM Registered Posts: 1,954 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I'm sure someone with more loan experience will advise, but it is like the other thread you mention, in that you have to decide if the interest is compounded or not. In this case I wouldn't imagine it is supposed to.

You need a spreadsheet with 3 columns; loan - interest - total

Then you can work out the interest daily, monthly or quarterly, but keep it in a seperate column so its not compounded.
  • Monsoon
    Thanks PGM. Maybe it isn't as complex as my little brain thinks.