Home For AAT student members AQ 2013 AAT Level 4 (Level 8 in Scotland)
Current updates regarding coronavirus (Covid-19) and the precautions AAT are taking will be continually updated on the below page.

Please check this link for the latest updates:
We hope you are all safe and well and if you need us we will be here. 💚

Technican's level = Level 4 = Degree level?



  • NesrinNesrin Registered Posts: 1
    This is the info I found:


    What is each level of qualification equivalent to?

    NQF qualification levels can be compared with ‘traditional’ qualifications as follows:
    Entry level qualifications are equivalent to studying at Foundation Diploma level.
    A Level 1 qualification is equivalent to GCSE grade D-G level.
    A Level 2 qualification is equivalent to GCSE grade A*-C level.
    A Level 3 qualification is equivalent to A Level.
    A Level 4 qualification is equivalent to BTEC Professional Diploma level.
    A Level 5 qualification is equivalent to HND or foundation degree level.
    A Level 6 qualification is equivalent to Bachelor’s Degree level.
    A Level 7 qualification is equivalent to Master’s Degree level.
    A Level 8 qualification is equivalent to Doctorate level.
    It’s important to remember that this is only a guide, and that courses on the same NQF level aren’t exactly equivalent – the learning style, course length and content can vary significantly.
    As well as corresponding to academic qualifications, NQF qualification levels also correspond to the type of job role that is suitable for people working at each level. The types of job roles and skills that are associated with each level are as follows:
    Entry Level: People working at Entry Level have a basic level of knowledge, and are able to complete tasks under direct supervision. This level of qualification is not aimed at specific job roles, but rather at building basic skills.
    Level 1: People working at Level 1 have a basic level of knowledge relating to their profession, working with guidance or under some supervision to complete everyday tasks.
    Level 2: Level 2 represents a good level of knowledge in the student’s chosen area, allowing them to complete a varied range of tasks with some supervision or guidance.
    Level 3: Level 3 represents a range of knowledge and skills, including detailed knowledge of one or more areas. Level 3 corresponds to job roles where students are required to work independently.
    Level 4: People working at Level 4 have specialist or advanced knowledge and skills – Level 4 is aimed at technical or professional job roles, sometimes with supervisory or first line management elements.
    Level 5: People working at Level 5 are involved in complex decision making and problem solving – this is generally in the form of middle managerial roles.
    Level 6: Level 6 moves from gaining knowledge through study to using the student’s original research and ideas to solve problems. Level 6 is aimed at senior managerial and professional roles.
    Level 7: Level 7 represents the use of detailed original research to deal with complex and unpredictable situations, in jobs such as strategic management or directorial roles.
    Level 8: People working at Level 8 are considered leading experts in their field. Their role would involve developing new approaches to extend or redefine current knowledge or best practice in their chosen subject area.
  • luckygeezerluckygeezer Registered Posts: 13
    On the AAT website the following information is provided:

    Professional Diploma in Accounting
    In this qualification you will cover higher accounting tasks including drafting financial statements, managing budgets and evaluating financial performance, as well as optional specialist units including business tax, personal tax, external auditing and credit management and cash and treasury management.

    Achieve professional AAT Accountant status
    If you successfully complete this qualification and fulfil our work experience requirements, you can apply for AAT full membership and achieve professional MAAT status.
    Length 9-18 months

    Level 4 (Level 8 Scotland)
    Foundation degree
    Higher apprenticeship (Technical - Scotland)
    High education diploma
    HND and HNC
    NVQ 4/5

    So MAAT = NVQ 4/5 as the above indicates. This is clearly stated on the AAT website.

    If MAAT = NVQ 4/5 according to AAT then FMAAT (+ licensed to engage in public practice in accountancy, taxation and financial consultancy) must SURELY = NVQ 6 which = Degree level.

    I encourage AAT to formally state that, in the opinion of AAT, FMAAT (+ licensed to engage in public practice in accountancy, taxation and financial consultancy) does = Degree level. FMAAT is not attained easily because it is issued by AAT only after AAT receives additional CPD and experience proof. I was also licensed by AAT to engage in public practice in accountancy, taxation and financial consultancy. Surely the AAT hierarchy can simply state my AAT status of FMAAT = NVQ 6 = Degree level.

  • NeilHNeilH Trusted Regular Registered Posts: 547
    The information on the AAT website is lacking a little clarity and comparisons are not as easy as they appear to be, and I say that as someone who's taught AAT and not just studied it.

    The Professional Diploma in Accounting is accredited at level 4 of The Register of Regulated Qualifications with 420 guided learning hours. The first year of a university degree is equivalent to level 4 but has 1,200 guided learning hours, do the AAT diploma is approximate to 1/3 of the first year of a university degree.

    The AAT's description is also blurring lines; the level of higher apprenticeships will vary depending on the qualification taken as part of the apprenticeship, HNCs are at level 4 on the register and HNDs are at level 5 on the register, foundations degrees are similar to the first two years of an honours degree which puts them at level 5 overall, high(er) education diplomas are usually awarded for study similar to half of the second year of a degree (level 5).

    The recognition of experience for F/MAAT may have some relevance, but since the experience is on par with the qualification, so it would be very difficult to equate this to levels beyond level 4. Also, the granting of a public practice licence can be based on the same experience used for membership application, so having the licence doesn't necessarily mean the holder has moved beyond MAAT.
  • richfrichf Just Joined Registered Posts: 86
    From personal experience, I think AAT in totality is probably equivalent to year one of uni plus a third of year two.
    I am currently studying CIMA and finding the material and exams for P1, F1 and E1 at about the level of degree year two, perhaps easier, and wouldn't say all combined would be equal the whole year two at uni.

    What does make AAT/CIMA and other professional qualifications harder and more respected is the fact you are working alongside studying which makes much tougher than uni at exam crunch time.
Sign In or Register to comment.