AAT and registered auditors

cornflower
cornflower Registered Posts: 129 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
Does anyone know why a MAAT or FMAAT cannot sign auditors reports? My father is also a FMAAT and has to turn down opportunities which stipulate registered auditors or CCAB accountants only. Seems strange when AAT has an audit sim as well.

Comments

• stefanboro
    stefanboro Registered Posts: 187 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    You've said it yourself - CCAB members only. Essentially, the EU has delegated the requirements of being an audior to member states. UK law then consulted with IASB and thus eventually laid the reqirement down in statute.

Frankly I think it's the sound thing to do in principle. The idea is that the level of competence of CCAB members is greater then that of non-CCAB members.

In practise however....
  • cornflower
    My boss is also a MAAT and she says the same about our chartered auditors! I'm studying for ACCA in September which my AAT boss was not happy about saying it will limit me but how I don't know. The girl who I get on really well with at our auditors passed her ACCA about 3 years ago and is now a partner. She says she wouldn't have got there just with AAT which I also find odd because you still have to work hard to get AAT. To me all the bodies should have similar standing.
  • RAS
    RAS Registered Posts: 124 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Whilst AAT is a very good qualification in its own right, everyone must realise the ACCA qualification is at a much more advanced level. Its like saying "O" levels are the same as "A" levels.
  • NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    Hi