Any Advice for a 17 year old?

Options
charlton124
charlton124 Registered Posts: 6 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi,
I'm charlton and I'm 17 I am doing AAT lvl 2 and 3 fast track starting on the 14th of september. lvl 2 finishes in december and lvl 3 finshes in june. Just any advice of getting a job or workplacement or what stage should I start looking. Also any Do's and Don'ts, I might have the upper hand as I have been working as a silver service waiter for one year so I have good customer service skills. Also I have a ICT level 3 diploma with distinctions and Comptia A+. Do you think their is any chance of me getting a job in accounts.

Any Advice about any of the stuff you found hard or some mistakes you made which you learnt from would be great.

Comments

• Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    I got my first job in accounts when I was 16 with no accounts experience so I hope I can help!

You should be looking for trainee/junior positions. Firstly, make sure your CV and covering letter are up to scratch. I receive quite a lot of speculative applications for trainee positions and I always make sure they are read if not by me by someone else but if there are any spelling/typing/grammatical errors at all it goes straight in the bin.

The fact that you have had a job at all is always a plus in my eyes so definitely expand on this to include your customer service/communication/team skills.

TBH, if I was employing you for an accounts role I don't really care that you have a diploma in ICT (sorry) but I would be interested to know whether you are competent in using excel and word and whether you have any experience of any accounting packages such as Sage.

As you have already begun studying be prepared for skills tests at the interview stage.

Good luck!
  • PGM
    PGM Registered Posts: 1,954 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Gem7321 wrote: »