Sale of Accountancy Fees - Tax Advice

Crunch
Crunch Registered Posts: 5 New contributor 🐸
Hi

I am selling my fees and I was advised by the broker to selll the fees not the business. as it's easier.

Now I am no expert on capital gains tax and it's been year's since my exams so apologise for my stupidity but here we go:

My business is a limited company and VAT registered.

Questions
a) would I raise an invoice for the consideration plus VAT?
b) will the consideration fall into the P&L and be subject to Corp Tax or be treated as CGT?

There are no assets for sale so can this all be classed as goodwill?
Remember this is a ltd company.

What I would like, is to treat it somehow as a capital gain. My wife and I are the only shareholders so our exempt CGT would cover the entire proceeds.

c) In order to be a capital gain, would our business had to be a partnership and not a limited company?
d) If we treated the sale as a sale of the limited company (ie selling our 2 shares) would that then be a capital gain and able us to utilise the exempt allowances for CGT? If yes what is invovled in this as the purchasers only wants our fees and not the debtors, creditors, bank, etc?

I know I should know this but I don't, so if anyone can advise me on the most tax efficient way of selling the fees I would be very grateful.

Thanks.

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    If you are selling the whole business then you would be selling your shares in the business, and that would be subject to CGT. This is better from a tax persepctive for you.

If you are selling a block of fees, then the limited company is selling the block of fees, and will pay corporation tax on it. This is better from a tax perspective for the buyer, and is less risky for them. You would then need to extract the profit from the Ltd Co and close it down.