AAT sufficient?

Hello chaps,

Im a newbie on here; I've had a quick look and couldn't see this covered before, but my apologies if this is a duplicate.

I'm a new Full Member of the AAT, having joined through the 'Part Qualified' route as a PQ ACA. It had always been my intention to qualify as an ACA in order to progress my career to the level I would like.

However, now that I've become aware of the MIP scheme, I wonder whether becoming ACA is even worth it? I currently work in a very small firm as a senior client manager (so, I have responsibility for a portfolio of clients), looking after their accounts, corporation tax, VAT and self assessment, as well as any ad-hoc issues with bookkeeping, CGT, IHT... etc. I also do a small amount of self-employed work for which I've applied for MIP status.

My question, I suppose, is really one of earnings potential; do those of you who are AAT MIPs find that not having a 'higher' qualification has hampered your earnings potential? Would I be well advised to continue with the ACA studies? I'm considering either leaving employment and starting my own firm (though I have concerns about the practicalities of that), or buying the clients I currently look after from my employer, and becoming a partner of this firm. Obviously nobody can tell me what's best for me, I'm just putting feelers out to build a body of advice. The main dilemma, for what it's worth, is that I have two small children and ACA studying requires an immense amount of home-study which is rather difficult if I want to see my children too!

Thanks all, look forward to getting to know you.

Mike.

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Hi Mike and welcome to the forum.

With the experience of your current role, and with the AAT MIP scheme, as a non-chartered myself I would consider going AAT MIP without ACA when the time is right for you.