Going on to study ACCA

Options
Hello,

I am currently studying AAT Level 3 at my local college. I left school not knowing what i wanted to do, the sensible thing would have been to stay on and complete my A levels anyway so i had options in the future. Stupidly i left school and got a full time job instead as the money appealed to me more at the time. Now i am doing my AAT qualification at college, hoping to go on and complete level 4 there and then complete the ACCA foundation level and then onto the professional qualification a long with the degree.

My question is, can i still enter for ACCA lower level after my AAT Level 4 even though i have no A Level qualifications?

Jade x

Comments

• ariadne
    ariadne Registered Posts: 218
    Options
    I have a strong suspicion that AAT L4 is a recognised alternative route to ACCA. L3 is awarded UCAS points which are more than a single A* a level (perhaps two grade Cs) and L4 is a step up from there. I would call ACCA to clarify as they have their own version of AAT style courses which they are pushing as an alternative to those without A Levels. This may have led to changes in the exemptions they allow - I'm working towards ACCA F1-3 partly for that reason.
  • NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    I believe Level 3 is recognised for entry onto ACCA (but no exemptions), whereas Level 4 will get you exemptions.
  • ariadne
    Options
    I think L4 only gets an exemption from one ACCA paper - F2, I saw this here and I'm now studying L4 modules alongside the corresponding ACCA papers. Plus getting the first three ACCA papers and a few more F papers will enable you to apply for MAAT without L4.
  • NeilH
    Options
    AAT Level 4 will give exemptions from ACCA F1 - F3. To gain MAAT without Level 4 you'll need to complete ACCA F1-F3 and two of ACCA F6, F8, F9.
  • ariadne
    Options