AP vs AR Debate Needs Settling

Options
Carl83
Carl83 Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
I am an AP manager and have a debate with my companies AR manager that needs settling. We operate a number of hotels and work in our head office, my team pay internal invoices to our AR team (that's another story) but our debate is around allocating credit notes.

On occasion we pay invoices before we have received a credit note against it. Our AR team immediately allocate the credit to the invoice, meaning when we pay it leaves an unallocated cash credit in the sales ledger. Our AR manager claims this is good practice and the correct way to do things, stating that if the credit isn't allocated straight away then the revenue has not been offset.

My argument is the revenue will be offset the moment they raise the credit note and not when it is allocated. More importantly my argument is the credit should not be allocated until it appears on the remittance and that the full payment should be matched against the whole invoice (not the offset amount) citing that both ledgers should match.

Our AR want to match credits to invoices immediately, I believe they should be left unmatched until they are used and visible on the remit. In the situation of an invoice being paid in full before the matching credit is used, I believe the credit note should be left unallocated he wishes to leave an unallocated cash balance. Who is right and who is wrong is this case? Or is this down to discretion? Also, can someone clear up the debate regarding the revenue as I feel the revenue is adjusted when the credit is raised not when it is allocated.