Becoming a MAAT

RebeccaR
RebeccaR Registered Posts: 7
I have completed all of the AAT Level 4 apart from the project which I am waiting for the results for.
Am I correct in thinking that if I pass this, I could sign up to be a MAAT or are there any other requirements?
I am a full time student so have not had work experience as such.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• AbbyCarr
    AbbyCarr Registered Posts: 157
    MAAT application includes a few sections:
    -Work Experiece
    -Nominate a Personal Referee
    -Confirming personal details and declaration.

I am aware the personal referee is not required to be someone you work with, it could be a tutor. However, I believe you would be required to have worked in an accounting position in order to access the work experience. For the work experience section there are 5 areas of competency: Behaving Ethically, Commitment to Continuing Professional Development, Communication Skills, Managing Time and Workload and Team Work. Each section requires you to write about how you believe you are achieving this. The other section of Work experience relates to technical competence. It requires you to explain how your skills in finance have been put into practice, and you must have at least 6 months experience in the area.

I am therefore unsure if you could apply for MAAT. It would be worth ringing AAT to consider your options.
  • KoopaCooper
    KoopaCooper Registered Posts: 224
    AbbyCarr said:

MAAT application includes a few sections:
    -Work Experiece
    -Nominate a Personal Referee
    -Confirming personal details and declaration.