24+ Advanced Learning Loan - Repayment

Options
Hi all,

I've been studying AAT for a few years now and I'm currently studying Level 4.

I had my first year funded but for Level's 3 and 4 I had to take a 24+ Advanced Learning Loan as I couldn't afford to do it any other way at the time due to not earning enough money. I was not in an Accounts role at the time so I couldn't get it covered by my employer. I am now in an Accounts role with my employer but I don't earn more than £21,000 so payments do not come out of my pay and I have not contributed anything other than the times I had overtime pay or a bonus.

Now, my loans don't come to anything more than £4,500 and so I am at a loss as to whether I should start making any payments I can to bring down the amount as I know interest keeps being added to it.

I'm currently saving for a deposit to get a mortgage too. I know that if I was to use a 0% credit card that I would be able to clear it from interest but it would be a commitment now and would count against me if I was to try and get a mortgage soon, plus I know that as it stands, if I lost my job I would not need to pay the SLC whereas I would still need to pay the credit card each month.

I know my amount is nowhere near the amount I've seen from the media or other places (£40,000+) but I don't like debt and it worries me that I will end up paying a lot more than I originally took out as I don't know when my pay will increase to over the £21,000 at the moment.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Andy

Comments

• Rebecca_JORDISON
    Rebecca_JORDISON Registered Posts: 10
    Options
    you can pay it direct to the student loans company if you want, but yes it will just increase with interest if it remains unpaid,.