Question relating to charity assets

FionaMessenger
FionaMessenger Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
I do the bookkeeping for a charity (CIO) I also work for, for about 2 years. I have effectively copied how it has been done in the years previously, but in the course of my training I am wondering if a certain aspect has been done right. I am a Level 3 student, the accounts are signed off by an external accountant.

Our yearly return is expressed as a detailed SPL, itemised income and expenses accompanied by a statement from the CEO.

The charity is a music school, and over the years has been donated various musical instruments. These are loaned out to students for a 'donation'. I would guess that the saleable value of these instruments is probably somewhere in the region of £10K - some are very cheap, some are quite valuable but there are a lot of them.

As far as I can see, these instruments have never been classed as assets, and I am thinking they should be and that we should also have an SFP.

The question I have is that is there any circumstance whereby these would NOT be regarded as the charity's assets, before I go to my boss and tell her she needs to value them and agree depreciation rules and declare them on an SFP. I am not sure if they are regarded as the charity's property, or the CEO's and does that make a difference. Given that the previous person who did these accounts was fully qualified, this potential oversight seems ridiculous. Do we have to have an SFP as a CIO?

Any insight and experience on this gratefully received!

Comments

• shamilkaria
    shamilkaria Registered Posts: 101 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi @FionaMessenger

I hope you are well?

Because it is charity accounting their rules are slightly different they follow SORP / FRS 102. The below link may help you answer your question. Its from Gov.UK and if you do a search for donated goods etc it should hopefully give you a guide.