Extended Trial Balances!!

toni1987
toni1987 Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
Hi

I am new to this and was wandering if somebody could please help me!!

I am doing a unit 5 assignment on trial balances and am really stuck as I missed the first few lessons on this college due to late enrollment and am fogged over with this!! Also, the text book are rubbish!!

Please help?:confused1:

Comments

• Devilishbird
    Devilishbird Registered Posts: 56 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hi Toni,

What are you stuck on or do you not understand? Is it which side Dr/Cr accounts sit on or is it adjustments that are made to them?
  • steveborner
    steveborner Registered Posts: 21 New contributor 🐸
    the etb looks a lot more daunting than it actually is.

start off remembering Dead Clic
    Debits
    Expenses
    Assets
    Drawings

Credits
    Liabilities
    Income
    Capital

then make sure that you debit and credit accordingly. Remeber P+L is for Income and Expenses and Balance sheet is for Assets and liabilities.

Hope this helps
  • Richard
    Richard Registered Posts: 373 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I found that I started to understand ETB's once I had learnt and understood the layout of the P&L and Balance Sheets.

Maybe you could look at some P&L and Balance sheets, then go back to ETB.
  • aer87
    aer87 Registered Posts: 26 Regular contributor ⭐
    i agree

yes i agree with richard
    i cudn't grasp ETB's and as soon as we learnt balance sheets and P&L accounts i began 2 blitz the trial balances (even tho they never add up correctly on mine) but i always posted them to right accounts!

Hows it going now?
  • elly
    elly Registered Posts: 2 New contributor 🐸
    Hi,