A little bit of help please.

Pineapple16
Pineapple16 Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
Hi i'm new to this whole AAT thing and was wondering if anyone could possibly help me out.
I was just wondering do you have to join a college in order to take this course or can it be self taught?
As well as this i was wondering when would be the best time to join up? The college course i am looking to attend starts in September, but part of me would like to start now and give myself a good chance now if this course can be self taught.
Also any feedback on how its all gone for you would be great help!
I know the website could tell me all this information but i thought its best coming from the people who actually take the course.
Thanks
K x :001_smile:

Comments

• Jan
    Jan Registered Posts: 654 Epic contributor 🐘
    It is possible to go it alone - see posts by sebastianforbes or pm him!

There is also distance learning - google for providers and you should come up with Premier, BPP, Kaplan etc (not in any order of recommendation) - although I think you have to be registered as a student by next week if you want to take June exams.
    I attended college - really depends on you and if you can disciplin yourself to get down to study and how much support you get from work.
    Good luck & wecome to AAT forum
  • jorja1986
    jorja1986 Registered Posts: 210 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I went through a college but didnt have much luck.:glare:

I would still recommend a college though as there is a structure that you cant always acheive through self learning and distance learning. Not everything you need to know can be taught in a book. Tutors may have an easier or different way of teaching you the different types of analysis and layouts of balance sheets that stick in your mind rather than reading " A goes here etc etc". The layout is always the same but there are different methods of teaching it.