Applying for jobs

richardw
richardw Registered Posts: 108 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Employers with jobs going :001_unsure:

Job i recently applied for have come back to me today, not taking it any further, as their concerned that i wouldnt stay in the job long as im studying, & I would be looking to move on.
It was credit control in an accountancy practice, ie. dealing with their own clients.
I was right in the middle of their salary range, & would expect anyone in this area of work to either be studying or more qualified.

Employers always say they want people to be learning & being qualified.

Comments

• sarahwilson
    sarahwilson Registered Posts: 567 Epic contributor 🐘
    Its a nightmare isn't it trying to find something, if you are studying already they think you are too ambitious and if you are looking for support they think you are taking the mick. I really struggled, just keep trying and something will turn up.

On the bright side 24 minutes and its pub time!!
  • richardw
    2 things from today, grrr!

Job above
    It seems that we have an ex-student working for them on a 'year out', & they have been offered sponsorship for 3 years of ACA. They are on a year out as they failed their exams & the re-sits, (not a finance/accounting related course) & were withdrawn :huh:

Position advertised in local paper last thursday:
    Advert stated application form & details were available on their website, not there thurs eve. Emailed & got a reply friday stating that they wernt yet up. Received info Monday lunchtime.
    16 page pdf document, job details on 2 pages, with something that wasnt mentioned at all on the job advert:
    'Hold a current, valid driving license with access to a vehicle suitable for business use'
    If something is a requirement of the job, it should be on the job advert, not buried at the end of the job description. :glare: