EXTERNAL STUDENTS:Distance learning and Exam Centres

Bexi Boo
Bexi Boo Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Because I am studying at home with a distance learning provider the AAT has classified me as an EXTERNAL STUDENT. This means that I can only sit my exams where external students are accepted.

I couldn't sit the December exam at my local college,which is 10 minutes from my home as I am not registered with them. I had to make a 4 hour return journey. All the centres near my home refused to accept external candidates. I found this insulting and degrading!

Is it me or has anybody else had problems finding exam centres?
:thumbdown:

Comments

• coocoocadgoo
    coocoocadgoo Registered Posts: 41 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hi,
    I had this problem too for my foundation year, but luckily could go to a centre about 20 miles from home. This year however, because I overlapped Intermediate with Technician (intermediate being as distance learning and technician at my local college) I asked the college if they minded sitting my exams there. They said yes, so that was great.
    Some colleges will accept, if you offer to pay a fee for the external verifier.
    I found it very frustrating and a bit daunting when they said I would have to go to London etc. I don't see why more local colleges won't accept exam students only for a fee. As long as they've got one pupil sitting the exam, the college has to pay for the verifier anyway!
  • CelticStar
    CelticStar Registered Posts: 142 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰