So I got an interview

brownrob
brownrob Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
Hi guys, first time poster!

Ive an interview on Friday to become a Trainee Accounting Technician, but seemingly there is a 15 minute exam before the Interview. Now Ive no idea what to expect so what kind of things would they feasibly ask me?

Job said all that was required was GCSE's

Also, have you any tips that can help me in an interview? :tongue_smilie: Especiall expected salary. Training will be provided, so I assume exams may possibly be paid for... Ive no Accounting qualifications whatsoever

Sorry, Im kind of new to all of this, so apologies if I did something wrong!!

Comments

• jorja1986
    jorja1986 Registered Posts: 210 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Good luck.

It is probably more an aptitude test than anything else. SO that they know how you learn and what to expect of how you process thing and how you apply your logic.

Salary varies company to company so we cant really sugest what to expect as we dont know your, or the firms bacground. I was on £10k when I started out. But some start on £14 so anything inbetween seems fair. It sounds like you will have to start at Intermediate level if you have no experience so this will be reflected in the offer especially if they will be providing training as it is expensive.

Basically just be yourself try and stay as calm as possible and ask lots of questions. Though not about salary straight away. If you do that you will look like you are only in it for the money and some employers wont take to kindly to that. THey want someone who will wants to work, not work for money. I know it sounds backwards but I have been though lots of interviews and never once have i asked about salary but tehy always say.

It also means that when you get called back you have something to discuss as if you get called back you are thought of as a possible employee and then is salary an issue.

(sorry for essay!!!):thumbup:
  • alwa-37