acca vs cima

*Data Input* officer
*Data Input* officer Registered Posts: 59 Regular contributor ⭐
I'm comtemplating one over the other at the moment. With ACCA you get exemptions from modules F1-F3 but with CIMA you get the whole "certificate stage" exempt. I will never work in practise. I've got plenty of experience as an Assistant Management Accountant in the public sector now. After exemptions ACCA has 11 exams and CIMA has 10. So would any of you choose ACCA over CIMA or vice versa ?

Comments

• SandyHood
    SandyHood Registered, Moderator Posts: 2,034 mod
    I have been told by our exCIMA students that 2 years after qualifying they are invited to join ACCA. No further exams just the membership fees.
    I think ACCA do the same.

On that basis, you could have both 2 years after qualifying with either.
    So look at the exam content and choose the one you like the look of.
    Sandy
    sandy@sandyhood.com
    www.sandyhood.com
  • *Sarah*
    *Sarah* Registered Posts: 172 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Thanks for that Sandy, I had no idea you could do it without sitting some of the final level exams too
  • mark130273
    mark130273 Registered Posts: 4,234 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    think it depends on which branch of accounting you wish to go into ?
  • Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    mark130273 wrote: »
    think it depends on which branch of accounting you wish to go into ?
    I will never work in practise. I've got plenty of experience as an Assistant Management Accountant in the public sector now.

Both are suited to industry accounting. I agree with Sandy, take a look at the syllabus
  • mark130273
    but have been told that cima no good in a practice !
  • Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    No it's not, but they've already said they will never work in practice (see my 1st reply with the quote)
  • mark130273
    ohh right.........sorry..........
  • axl2derv