Personal statement

troy
troy Registered Posts: 275 Dedicated contributor 🦉
Hi,
I have an inteview in a week and i have to give a five minute presentation on myself and why i think i am the best person for the position of payments manager within the NHS. Could anyone give me any tips/advice on what needs to go into one please?

Comments

• Cullen
    Cullen Registered Posts: 592 Epic contributor 🐘
    Go over the advert for the job or the job requirements. Try to rephrase their requirements using powerful language. List these in order of importance. Write a sentence or small paragraph for each point showing how you fulfill their job specifications.

Try something like this:

I am suitable for this post because:

This role requires sound job knowledge. I am an experienced accounting officer with appropriate qualifications.(Give evidence)
    I have knowledge of this role and understand the requirements. (Give examples)
    This role requires leadership skills, which I have in more than one area.(Give examples e.g scout leader as well as work )
    This role requires an ability to work as a team member. I am good at working within a team.(Give examples)

Use language that is positive, so say I am hard working, I am a good time keeper, I have a proven excellent attendance record. Dont say negative things such as I am not lazy, I am rarely late, I dont have much sick leave.

Rehearse rehearse rehearse. Use a mirror or better get a mate or a partner to watch you for "leakage" in your body language. This could be folding arms, touching your face with your hands, looking away or at the floor.

Dress to impress. Shiny shoes, neatly ironed shirt/blouse, business like attire.

Plenty of straight eye contact, open gestures and smiles.

Go for it!!!
  • troy
    Cullen,