Tax assistant

gvw121
gvw121 Registered Posts: 3 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Hi guys,

I am a newbie on this AAT website, and I was wondering if you guys could advise me on how to become a tax assistant. I am very interested in doing tax returns for self employed people and sole traders. I am currently in my final year of university studying accounting and finance, and im on route for a 2.1 providing I do well in my last 2 modules. Can somebody point me in the right direction of what would be the best qualification to go with either being ACCA, AAT, or anything else?

I would do ACCA but the only thing that puts me off if is the 3 years work experience plus the studying on the side, but that doesn't mean I have ruled it out. Im interested in taxation but sadly I didn't take any taxation modules as other students in my university warned me to stay clear of that module because it was difficult and could dent my chances of getting a 2.1

I would appreciate everyones advice now that I am coming to the end of university and need to choose a career path which is rewarding as well as enjoyable.

Comments

• Andypandy
    Andypandy Registered Posts: 526 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    KPMG are taking on graduates this year & one of the areas is tax. There's a phone number on their website to contact their recruitment people on weekday lunchtimes, & an asessment test thing to help decide whether or not it's the right job for you. PWC are similar, but I wouldn't leave it too long - there might soon be alot of ex-E&Y employees looking for jobs :)
  • gvw121
    gvw121 Registered Posts: 3 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
    Hi Andy,