Requirements for AAT qualifications

Options
geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi Folks

Apart from passing the relevant exams to get AAT qualified, is there also a requirement to have 1 year's relevant work experience?

The reason why I am asking, is because I am studying the AAT at the moment and gettng through it quite quickly, sinvce I am out of a job, and thinking of going on to the ACCA.

So, is it worth me having a brief look at the ACCA syllabus when I have a few minutes to spare, or shall I concentrate on completing tha AAT and getting the relevant work experience, before thinking about the ACCA.

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Comments

• amyjayne27
    amyjayne27 Registered Posts: 314 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    Hi Geek,

You are right in thinking that you have to have a years experience to become MAAT qualified.

I would definately concentrate finishing the AAT before starting anything new. How far into the course are you?

Good luck

Amy
  • geek84
    Options
    Hi Amy

Thanks for your speedy reply.

I am still on level 2 stage - certificate. I have done the relevant assignments and now doing the practice exam papers. I think I have 2 levels more after this. How about you?

I'm trying to do as much of the course as possible since I an not working at the moment!
  • amyjayne27
    amyjayne27 Registered Posts: 314 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    Hiya,

You will be fine in the exam I'm sure. I am on intermediate, just done my first exam.

The time will fly by I promise!

Good luck on your studies and keep at it, it will all be worth it (hopefully) in the end!

Amy
  • SandyHood
    SandyHood Registered, Moderator Posts: 2,034 mod
    Options
    I encourage you to work in accounts.
    Ultimately we all study this subject for the career boost it gives, so think about the future.