Going it alone

Daz1865
Daz1865 Registered Posts: 67 Regular contributor ⭐
Hey guys,

I'm currently studying AAT Level 3 at evening classes through a local college. I've been studying for a year and a half and have been constantly frustrated. I know this isn't being particularly modest but I feel I outshine the rest of the class, the tutors go too slow, I feel like I could have achieved what I have so far on my own at a fraction of the cost and in half the time!

I've spoke to Kaplan and they said I could just book the exams through them. Exam fees would be £35 each. Books maybe £15 each per module. Thats only £300. There would also be a lot more flexibility when I could study. I think if I start in July (once L3 is finished) then I could realistically be done before the end of the year.

So I have been thinking about it and think I will just go it on my own for Level 4. I wondered if many people on here had done that? Do you think you actually need a college's support to succeed?

Thanks for reading

Comments

• Rinske
    Rinske Registered Posts: 2,453 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    A lot will depend on your level of motivation to go at it alone. You sound like you have that sorted, so that is a good start.

The other thing is, remember, if you go at it alone, there will be no tutor to ask anything, but you could ask things on the forums if you can't find it back. It will require some research most likely if you do not understand it.

For your project you will need tutor support, but you could look into just buying that unit from a distance learning provider, rather than local college.
  • Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    If you're self-disciplined enough to do it yourself then yes it's possible. Just bear in mind level 4 is a big step up from level 3 so don't underestimate it :)

As Rinske says, there is support here on the forums. You can but try it - good luck!
  • exam panic