Job Interview Tomorrow!!

Options
Amie1977
Amie1977 Registered Posts: 33 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi All,

I've got a job interview tomorrow for an Accounts Assistant and it says the pay is negotiable depending on experience - well I have plenty of "experience" but none of it actually working within an acocunts department - it has all sort of been in the admin side but coding and authorising payments of invoices etc. no VAT returns or trial balances etc.

I would really love the job becuase it is 5mins away from where I live so will reduce my hours considerably but I know I will have to take a drop in salary as I am well paid for what I currently do!

What sort of salary should I be looking at asking for??

Comments

• Daz1865
    Daz1865 Registered Posts: 67 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Well, if they offer you a job then you would be a strong position to negotiate. If you already have a decent paying job then that shows your market worth. I'm quite involved in staff funding and offering contracts, you would be surprised how many times an employee comes back to us and says 'i'm not prepared to take a pay cut', and we of course pay the higher amount every time!

In general terms, I think I've seen account assistant posts advertised between 15k and 25k. It is a bit of a vague description though.
  • Amie1977
    Options
    Thanks for that! I'd be happy for £19k so no drop in salary but we'll see. Well I have the interview in a couple of hours so I will let you know how I got on!
  • Sammmy88
    Sammmy88 Registered Posts: 283 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    Good Luck!!!!
    Level 2 - Passed 2011
    Level 3 - Passed 2012
    Level 4 - Passed 2014

Awaiting to start CIMA :)
  • Hopeipassx
    Hopeipassx Registered Posts: 66 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Good luck :)
  • Amie1977
    Options
    Thanks for the Good Luck messages!